Christmas time in Germany Part ONE – Funny traditions

Experiencing a German Christmas has made me notice some differences between my traditional Christmas, and the typical Christmas here. For example, they don’t really have a Santa Claus here in Bavaria, that’s something “Coca Cola invented” (Which is true). They instead have the Christkind (Literally the Christ-Child), who comes on Christmas eve and gives presents to all the good kids. (Which I think is a bit ironic, since if it really is Christ, wasn’t giving his life to us, dying on the cross, a good enough gift already?) Anyway, the idea sounds simple enough, basically like Santa, right? Wrong.

The Christkind isn’t always a man. Actually it’s normally a woman with long blonde hair – Does it make sense? Nope. I’ve asked sooo many people, but they don’t know why the Christkind (basically Jesus) suddenly turned into a blonde woman.

Exhibit B

Exhibit A

Exhibit B

Exhibit B

So I’m guessing it’s not really Jesus.

That’s just on Christmas eve though. In Germany, there’s also a tradition regarding the 6th of December. This is the day where Nikolaus comes and gives presents. My host family told me about it, and I was like: “Well, okay… ” And in my head I was picturing a little christmas elf, just like the ones we have at home in Denmark (Nisser). I was putting on my shoes in the morning and nearly stabbed my foot on something in my shoe – A present from Nikolaus! The Nisser in Denmark all leave presents for the kids, so I was pretty sure Nikolaus was just a Nisse. Imagine my surprise when I suddenly see this guy dressed in a priest – outfit, come walking down the stairs in school.

I was all alone in the bottom level cause I wanted to buy lunch, but the line was too long so I decided to go back up to my friends. As I walk up the stairs, this guy with a long robe, weird hat, a big white beard, sunglasses (!) and a cane walks down the stairs in front of me. Behind him come two girls dressed as angels, carrying a big, black chest, followed by another guy with a sack over his head and a whip type thing in his hand. I just stop in the middle of the stair case and watch them go buy. This huge hoard of little kids ran by me and I just followed them, cause I had absolutely no idea as to what was going on. Turns out the priest-guy was our Student Council President, and the angels + the sack guy were the second, third and fourth vice presidents.

They do it every year, giving candy and mandarins to the kids, because apparently Nikolaus used to do that as well.

According to the legend, Nikolaus comes in the middle of the night on a donkey or a horse and leaves little treats – like coins, chocolate, oranges and toys – for good children.

– Quote from TheLocal

The guy with the sack over his head is knecht ruprecht, the guy who takes care of all the bad kids. The whip is his tool.

I really wanted to take a picture with our Nikolaus guy, but before I could get over my “shock”, he was gone. 😦 He posted a picture on Instagram though, haha, so all creds to him :’)
(Side note: Dude, if you for some reason see this 1. I’m sorry that i posted a picture of you and 2. Whatcha doin’ on my blog?!)

Screenshot_2014-01-04-18-42-32-1

The sunglasses aren’t actually a part of the outfit, they were meant more as a joke, I think.

Another example of Nikolaus

Another example of Nikolaus

My gift from Nikolaus! Licorice Chocolate!

My gift from Nikolaus! Licorice Chocolate!

20131206_140233

Another tradition is Sternstuden – A  Germany wide charity event for kids in need. Lots of high profile Germans volunteer as telephone people, you know, the ones who answer when you call in to donate. Some people from my school went to Nürnberg, where it takes place, and performed together with some other schools.  I could have come too, but some guys wanted to go as well and since they really needed more boys to sing,  I didn’t get to go. It’s too bad, cause they were in the TV and everything!

20131206_210905

I KNOW THE GUY WITH THE CURLY HAIR!

Don’t know if this was at all interesting, but there’ll be a part two coming, so be excited! 😀

Love, Bianca

IMG-20131221-WA0005

Singing Christmas songs in music class

IMG-20131221-WA0006

The blackboard has been nicely decorated with snow, stars, elvish and a bit of chinese if you look closely enough

IMG-20131216-WA0019

Art class 🙂

Snapchat-20131223060541

One of my best friends sent me danish christmas cookies!! They were delish, and my host family want the recipes haha

Leave a comment