Carnival in Germany!

So Saturday I went to the Faschings party at the firefighters’ … Sunday was different though. The small towns in the countryside have various groups, kind of like scout groups, but at the same time totally different. Anyway, my friend was in a group called the ”Biberhexe” – The witches from Biburg. I joined them this year, got a mask and was ”baptized” and everything. (They cut off some of my hair, threw it on the fire, made me smooch a guy and sprayed champagne on me. Did I somehow join a cult by accident??)

Anyway, the ”Faschingsumzuge” (Carnival / Parade) are very well know around here and people stand all along the parade route and sing and clap as we walk by with our wagons and stuff. All in all there were over 60 parade wagons (floats?), which is pretty good, considering the fact that we were waaaay out in the German countryside. It was all very festive, the music very loud, and the people were very happy. Since our group was wearing masks we got to run after little kids (and adults) who ran screaming away. (We gave them candy afterwards, though, so it was okay!) It was super, super fun! 🙂

One of the other wagons did Alice in Wonderland :)

One of the other wagons did Alice in Wonderland 🙂

Our witch-wagon :D

Our witch-wagon 😀

:D Aren't we pretty - I'm the one in the right side of the pic

😀 Aren’t we pretty – I’m the one in the right side of the pic

Afterwards, the Biburg witches drove back to Biburg and partied on in the little club house in the town. It was more of a shed than an actual hut, but it was cozy enough. People danced and sang and drank and ate. Boy, it was weird, but an experience after all. I mean, I like parties and stuff, but it was weird partying with someones grandparents, and their children, and their grandchildren…

The Fasching officially ends Wednesday at midnight, where someone gets thrown into a big sack and people pour all the leftover alcohol over that person. I can faintly hear the Danes screaming: ”WHAT, you pour out the LEFTOVER ALCOHOL?!”

Well, yes. Because here, since most people are Catholic, they normally fast from Thursday until Easter. It’s a tradition, I think. My host family is doing it as well, and I think I might join them. (Not that we aren’t going to eat. My host parents just won’t drink any alcohol, i.e. Wine with dinner, and my host sisters and I wont eat any candy etc… So I guess we could drink the alcohol and they could eat the candy … 😉 ).

Top left: All the floats were

Top left: All the floats were “pulled” by tractors. Top right: The witches kept on lifting som of the smaller witches up with their brooms. It was kind of “our thing”, and people would clap afterwards. Bottom right: Friend in her beautiful dress :’)

Witches masks

Witches’ masks

Pheeew, it was a long evening, and most of the country-folks party every night, from Saturday until Wednesday! I wouldn’t be able to handle that, but then again I didn’t grow up drinking beer with my dinner…

People kept saying: ”Wow, you guys don’t have any carnivals in Denmark?”, and I honestly couldn’t think of any other parades than the annual Gay Parade we have in Copenhagen. They all looked and me and went: ”… Well… It’s not quite the same…”.

(They found the fact that gay people get to dance around in the streets dressed in mankinis and feathers was really weird and quite disturbing… But the fact that the 50 year old married drunk woman was making out with a 20-something year old man in the corner of the shed was totally normal and okay …  Again, ”Fasching ist nur ein Mal im Jahr!”… )

Anyway, we sang sooooo much, I’ve got some horrible German schlager songs by Helene Fischer and people like that in my head… (”Aaaaatemlos, durch die Nacht…. !” – YouTube it… ). German people really love their Schlagers. And beer. And making out with their neighbors.

:’) Sometimes I miss the Danes – But German people are pretty great too, haha.

Anyway, enjoy your week!

Loads of love, Bianca xxxxxx

collage_20140304041647231

One thought on “Carnival in Germany!

  1. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday: Fastnacht Day! | EF High School Exchange Year in the Mid-Atlantic

Leave a Reply

